15 new EV fast charging stations coming to Utah next year

The new stations are expected to double Utah’s current fast charging capacity by the end of 2024

SUMMIT COUNTY, Utah — The Utah Department of Transportation announced this week that 15 new electric vehicle charging sites will be built statewide by the end of 2024, including one in Summit County.

The new charging sites will be paid for through grants provided by the National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Formula Program, as well as funding from the state of Utah and private businesses.

Utah will receive approximately $36 million in federal funding. Combined with a minimum 20% private match, the program is expected to invest a total $43 million.

“The future is coming, and these 15 new fast charging sites will ensure Utah will be ready for it,” said Carlos Braceras, UDOT executive director. “Building out the statewide charging network really opens the door to let Utahns choose to travel where they want, when they want, in the way they want.”

This first phase of the program will cost about $17.5 million, and will provide Utahns with access to fast EV charging every 50 miles along interstate highways.

Chargers will be operated by private companies and built in the following locations:

  • Coalville – Rocky Mountain Power
  • Snowville – Pilot Flying J Travel Center
  • Tremonton – Maverik
  • Layton/Ogden – Rocky Mountain Power
  • Delle (I-80) – Utah.Energy
  • Nephi – Tesla
  • Tie Fork – Rocky Mountain Power
  • Price/Wellington – Maverik
  • Fillmore – Maverik
  • Ivie Creek – Rocky Mountain Power
  • Moab – Rocky Mountain Power
  • Thompson Springs – Utah.Energy
  • Cove Fort – Rocky Mountain Power
  • Monticello – Maverik
  • Bluff – Rocky Mountain Power

Once they open, the public will have access to the charging sites 24/7.

Photo: Utah Department of Transportation

You May Also Like
TownLift Is Brought To You In Part By These Presenting Partners.

Add Your Organization