Arts & Entertainment

Sundance Board of Trustees grows with announcement of new members

PARK CITY, Utah — The Sundance Institute, a nonprofit organization, announced today the appointment of four new leaders to its Board of Trustees. Tessa Thompson, Pete Nicks, Nina Fialkow, and Kimberly Steward are joining the esteemed board, who bring invaluable experience and a shared commitment to guiding and nurturing storytellers.

These additions reinforce the Institute’s mission of building an enduring and vibrant community for creators. Working closely with Board Chair Ebs Burnough and CEO Joana Vicente, these distinguished Trustees will play a pivotal role in shaping the future of the organization.

“As Sundance Institute continues to respond to the needs of independent artists, we welcome these new members of our Board, each of whom has an incredible commitment to independent film and a long history with the Institute,” said Sundance Institute Board Chair Ebs Burnough in a press release. “Together, the Board is poised to identify new and strengthened ways to uplift independent storytellers.”

Tessa Thompson is an award-winning actor and producer, Pete Nicks is an award-winning documentary filmmaker, Nina Fialkow is an award-winning producer, and Kimberly Steward is an Academy Award-nominated producer, entrepreneur and philanthropist.

“I drove out to my first Sundance in 1999 in what was likely a highly unreliable vehicle,” said Pete Nicks in the press release. “But I made it and got to see my film school professor Jon Else hoist what was then known as the Filmmaker’s Trophy for his documentary Sing Faster: The Stagehands’ Ring Cycle. I was hooked and lucky enough to be invited over the years with my own films. I’m now beyond thrilled to join the board of trustees and play a role in the evolution of this magical organization.”

They join current members on the Institute’s Board: Robert Redford, President & Founder; Ebs Burnough, Chair; Sean Bailey, Vice Chair; Gigi Pritzker, Vice Chair; Jason Blum, Kimberlé Crenshaw, Philipp Engelhorn, Caterina Fake, Jeanne Donovan Fisher, Robert J. Frankenberg, Patrick Gaspard, Donna Gruneich, Cindy Harrell Horn, Uzodinma Iweala, Amanda Kelso, Charles D. King, Lyn Davis Lear, Ann Lewnes, Wonya Lucas, Alejandro Ramírez Magaña, Shripriya Mahesh, Pat Mitchell, Bill Plapinger, Amy Redford, Geoffrey K. Sands, Nadine Schiff-Rosen, Barry Tyerman, and Lulu Wang.

You May Also Like
TownLift Is Brought To You In Part By These Presenting Partners.

Add Your Organization